Subaru Solterra Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Super Moderator
1,237 Posts

· Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This will likely not affect Solterra because it's already ineligible on account of its country of manufacture. Only EVs built in North America will be affected, and then only if their battery sourcing would keep them from getting the full $7,500.
IDK - the vibe I'm getting from this is that until there are new rules, old rules apply..But I'm not a tax professional either.

· Super Moderator
2019 Ascent Touring (me) 2020 Forester Limited (Spouse)
289 Posts
Dave, if I recall clearly, the requirement for North American manufacture was effective immediately with the new tax credit program which was why folks were scrambling to understand what the definition of "binding contract" is in the context of the legislation. This is separate from the battery/materials aspects referenced in the OP of this thread.

· Registered
9 Posts
I am not a tax professional, however I still plan to file for the credit based on my purchase order with a date prior to August. It’s signed by all parties and see what happens. Very well could owe the money back.

· Registered
95 Posts
In my opinion, if an audit determines you incorrectly filed & received the credit, you will definitely owe the IRS the $7,500 and likely a penalty plus interest.

My opinion is that anyone who claims a tax year 2022 electric car credit will be flagged as a high audit risk due to the contentious IRA change. I have never claimed an electric car on my taxes, but I suspect you need to list on your return which electric car you are claiming for the credit. Unless there is some miracle, the Solterra absolutely does not qualify without a strong and legally binding purchase contract.

Totally sucks, but that is the reality as I see it.

· Registered
409 Posts